#### TRAFFORD COUNCIL

Report to: **Annual Meeting of the Council** 

Date: 22 May 2019 Report for: **Decision** 

Chief Executive Report of:

## **Report Title**

#### APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE AND INDEPENDENT BODIES

#### Summary

To agree the appointment of representatives to outside and independent bodies relating to the service areas and functions of the Council.

Additionally, there is a more extensive list of outside and independent bodies whose activities relate to Executive functions. The appointments for these bodies will be made by the Leader of the Council/Executive, independently of the Council.

#### Recommendation(s)

- That approval be given to the appointment of representatives to those outside and independent bodies set out in Appendix 1 to this report.
- That the Chief Executive, in consultation with the relevant Group Leader(s), be delegated authority to appoint members to any outside body vacancy that remains or arises after this Annual Meeting and to any other bodies to which the Council is required to make appointments (and to report back to Council on any changes or new appointments so made).
- That the Council approves the persons named in Appendix 2 to sit on the Statutory School Appeals Committee for the 2019/20 Municipal Year and that the Corporate Director of Governance and Community Strategy be delegated authority to make changes to this list and to set up School Appeals Committees, including the appointment of Chairs.

Contact person for access to background papers and further information:

Name: Ian Cockill Extension: 1387

Background Papers: None.

#### TRAFFORD BOROUGH COUNCIL

#### REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES AND ORGANISATIONS

#### PERSONS NOMINATED - 2019/20

#### APPOINTMENTS MADE BY THE COUNCIL

Org	Organisation		Number of Representatives Required LAB:CON:LD:GRN		2019/20 Nominations
			Required LA	B.CON.LD.GKN	Councillor(s)
1.	Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA) / Association of Greater Manchester Authorities (AGMA)		1		
	(a)	AGMA Executive Board	1	1:0:0:0	Andrew Western
			(Leader of the Council plus 2 named substitutes from the Executive)		Substitutes: Mike Freeman Catherine Hynes
	(b)	GMCA	1	1:0:0:0	Andrew Western
			(Leader plus substitute)		Substitute: Catherine Hynes
	(c)	GMCA Audit Committee	1	1:0:0:0	GMCA Executive to determine
			(Cannot be the Leader)		(Chris Boyes)
			(Appointed by GMCA not a Council nomination)		
	(d)	GMCA Scrutiny Committees	6	4:2:0:0	
			(having regard to equality and diversity and the conurbation's population)		
	(i)	Corporate Issues and Reform			Anne Duffield (1 <sup>st</sup> preference)
	(ii)	Economy, Business Growth and Skills			Barry Brotherton (1st preference)
	(iii)	Housing, Planning and Environment			Kevin Procter (1st preference)

rganisation		Number of Representatives Required LAB:CON:LD:GRN		2019/20 Nominations Councillor(s)
<i>(;</i> )	and Durfus Durfu			
(iv)	2 <sup>nd</sup> Preference Pool (3 Members)			Amy Whyte (No preference)
				Sean Anstee (Corporate Issues and Reform)
				David Morgan (Economy, Business Growth and Skills)
(e)	Greater Manchester Culture and Social Impact Fund Committee	1	1:0:0:0	Jane Baugh
	Goolal Impact I und Committee	(plus substitute)		Deputy: Mike Freeman
		Membership to replicate AGMA Statutory Functions (o) below		winte i reeman
(f)	Greater Manchester Health Scrutiny Committee	1 Non-Executive	1:0:0:0	Sophie Taylor
	deruning deminince	Member		Substitute: Anne Duffield
		(plus Non-Executive substitute)		, amo Damoia
(g)	Greater Manchester Pensions	1	1:0:0:0	AGMA Executive to determine
	Fund Management Panel			(Alan Mitchell)
(h)	Greater Manchester Police and Crime Panel	1	1:0:0:0	Mike Freeman
		(Cannot be the Leader)		
(i)	Greater Manchester Police and Crime Steering Group	1	1:0:0:0	Mike Freeman
	only of the state	(Cannot be the Leader)		
(j)	Greater Manchester Transport Committee	1	1:1:0:0	Stephen Adshead
	Committee	(plus substitute)		Substitute: James Wright
		(plus 1 nominee to be appointed by the GM Mayor, ensuring that political balance across GM is represented)		Nominee: Nathan Evans
(k)	Greater Manchester Waste and Recycling Committee	2	1:1:0:0	Judith Lloyd Paul Lally
(I)	Health and Social Care	1	1:0:0:0	Andrew Western
	Partnership Board	(plus substitute)		Substitute: Jane Slater

Organisation			Number of		2019/20
	-		Representatives Required LAB:CON:LD:GRN		Nominations
			Required	LAB:CON:LD:GRN	Councillor(s)
	(m)	Health and Social Care Joint	1	1:0:0:0	Serena Carr
		Commissioning Board	(plus substitute)		Substitute: Akilah Akinola
	(n)	Planning and Housing Commission	1	1:0:0:0	AGMA Executive to agree final membership
					James Wright
	(o)	Statutory Functions Committee	1	1:0:0:0	Jane Baugh
			Membership to replicate GM Culture & Sound Impact Fund Committee (e) above		Substitute: Mike Freeman
	(p)	Nominations invited to be made, should the Council wish to do so:			
	(i)	Christie Hospital NHS Foundation Trust: Council of Governors	1	1:0:0:0	AGMA Executive to determine
	(ii)	Halle	1	1:0:0:0	AGMA Executive to determine
	(iii)	North West Regional Flood and Coastal Committee	3 Members invited from across GM	2:1:0:0	GMCA Executive to determine
			(plus deputies)		
	(iv)	Peoples History Museum: Charity Trustee role	1	1:0:0:0	AGMA Executive to determine
	(v)	Transport for the North – Scrutiny	1	1:0:0:0	GMCA Executive to determine
		Committee	(plus substitute)		
3.	Local Government Association - General Assembly		4	3:1:0:0	Joanne Harding Catherine Hynes Andrew Western Nathan Evans
4.	Manchester Port Health Authority		1	1:0:0:0	Graham Whitham
			(plus deputy)		Deputy: Jayne Dillon
5.	North	West Employers	1	1:0:0:0	Joanne Bennett
			(plus deputy)		Deputy: Amy Whyte
6.	Statutory School Admissions Appeals (See appendix 2 attached – not Committee Council members)				

# STATUTORY SCHOOL ADMISSION APPEALS COMMITTEE - PANEL MEMBERS FOR 2019/20

## **Lay People:**

Mrs. Bracegirdle Mr. Munday (Chair)

Mrs Broadstock Mr. Padden

Mrs. Finn (Chair) Mrs. Smith (Chair)

Ms. Hall (Chair) Mr. Turner

Mrs. A. Jones Mr. Whitehead (Chair)

Mr. P. Lea

## People with an Interest in Education:

Mrs. Book Mrs. Javaid
Mrs. Coulburn Mrs. D. Jones
Ms. Dawson-Smith Mrs. Keavney
Mrs. Dee Mrs. Kelly
Mr. C. Flannery Mrs. Peters
Mrs. Foan (Chair) Ms. Pressman
Mrs. Groves Mrs. Quest

Mr. Hall (Chair) Mrs. Sher (Chair)

Mrs. Hassan